Raspberry Pi

MA in Photography, Falmouth University, Module 3, Surfaces and Strategies, Week 7

IMG_2602

figure 1

As part of my research into exploring lateral technologies for the first time as part of the module at Falmouth I am using opportunities to experience and learn, even though this is the week we are exploring making photobooks.

I attended a basic raspberry Pi and Photography workshop led by the sound and image artist Leon Trimble.  We began by understanding that the small, exposed, cheap boards were nevertheless pretty effective when plugged into keyboards, monitors (hdmi in my case) and using wifi in the venue (the Birmingham Museum and Art Gallery) we became active quickly (see figure 2).  To my pleasant surprise there are a huge amount of web sites which provide ideas and code in a relatively accessible method of communication often with illustration.

figures 2, 3

I certainly do not put myself in the ‘techie’ category of human ability apart from an lifelong fascination for technology; however, in a very simple way we instructed minute camera boards, plugged onto the main boards via ribbon cables, via codes and created short streams to the monitor.  I managed to find a larger, fisheye (circa 160 degree – see figure 1) lens which I then, with assistance, created a 30 second burst of  1000 millisecond (i.e. 1 second)  images which were stored via jpegs (see figure 3) on the micro SD card plugged into the side of the Pi board.  This led me to a minor Eureka moment.  I now to plan on creating a Raspberry Pi 3 or Zero W along with a battery pack and power regulator and install the equipment into empty buildings to capture the light and ‘spirit of the place over a 24 period.  This would harness a fisheye lens.  I would then use software to create a video of 24 hours of timelapse as part of my planned multi media exhibition.  It is possible that this would displace my 3D ideas which are rolling around in my mind presently.

Links

Leon Trimble

Beginner’s Guide

One place to buy

One look at timelapse

 

Leave a Reply

