Distillation – Practice Methodology ………… Pause

MA in Photography, Falmouth University, Module 3, Surfaces and Strategies, Week 6

Following a discussion and challenge with a tutor I have taken a metaphoric scalpel to my practice intent and my endeavour to define my methodology.

I wrote on 23rd June about my intent thus;

"My practice is centred on Documenting Memories

It is about liminality, the state of change and transition that leads to birth : life : death : rebirth.

Each state casts off, but emerges from, its predecessor; my practice intent is to record the previous; the preceding state and the interstitial.

I equip myself with the techniques to capture the whole, the intimate, the trace, the space and the material.

I reinterpret via visual strategies to provide an experience of memory via posters in publicly accessible spaces".

 

With a degree of experimentation in mind I have reached this new expression.  It is simpler, more concise and demonstrative of my method and practice.  I shall be expressing this in conversations over my work, exhibition and workshop in the coming week, to listen out for responses and understandings.

 

Pause

Defining : The moment of discontinuity : The state of in-between.

Acting : To dwell in the moment and capture the interstitial state.

 

.

Leave a Reply

